View Article

Boomer Miller score with less than three minutes left in the first overtime as Cherokee defeated Washington Township 5-4 before a standing room only crowd at Hollydell to capture the Tier I title. Township led throughout the game as they capitalized on the power play, scoring twice. Mario Leone would score the first of his two on the night midway through the first period with both teams down a man; Jarret Strickon getting the assist and Township led 1-0. Early in the second period Donovan Haslett set-up Leone for his second of the night and Township enjoyed a 2-0 lead. Moments later Jeremy Ambrose made a nice play along the boards to keep the puck in and found Sam Libetti in front and the lead was down to 2-1.

Township came right back as Haslett scored on the power play and the lead was back to two goals at 3-1. Libetti and Ambrose would hook up again, this time Ambrose would score to bring the Chiefs to within 3-2. Just over two minutes later Jared Mara would connect from the point on the power play and the lead was 4-2. On a power play of their own, Anthony Salvatore, would score on a turnaround shot from the left circle to give Cherokee a huge lift heading into the third period, down just 4-3. Miller would set-up Salvatore early in the third period for the tying goal. Both teams would have chances but failed to capitalize. Miller was sent into the zone by Johnny Butkus and he skated around the net to the right circle and his quick shot found the net and gave the Chiefs their title. 

Notes: Congratulations to Coach McKay and assistants Steve Monaghan, Matt Pinto and Angelo Di Battista. Now it’s on to the Flyers Cup. Cherokee loses their top line of Miller, Salvatore and Kyle Horner, but has a young nucleus led by Ambrose, Libetti and Jake Frankenfield that should carry on the tradition for the Chiefs. 

Written by Mike Costantino

Posted in: Cherokee, WashTwp
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Post Rating