Annual Award Winners

Once again, is pleased to announce our annual award recipients. As in years past, some winners were obvious, while others were slightly more difficult. Listed below are the 2009 winners, all awards will be given out prior to the Championship Game on March 2nd:

(Accepting for Mike Walsh is his teammate Sean Fleming)

Player of the Year - Mike Walsh, Rancocas Valley: Mike led the league in points with 85 and goals with 52. Along with line mate Sean Fleming they were a huge reason RV went from 4 wins last year to 13 this season.


Defenseman of the Year - Chris Lyons, Washington Township: Chris was a stalwart for Township on defense and his speed and skill set was an asset on offense as he scored 16 goals for the Minutemen.


Leadership Award - Tom Szabo, Timber Creek: Playing on a team with just 4 defenseman, Szabo is always on the ice either killing a penalty, on the power play or diving to block a shot. He leads by example and was a major reason for the success of Timber Creek this season.


Breakout Player of the Year - Eddie Sarin, Washington Township: Just a sophomore, Eddie scored 25 goals and had 25 assists this year, contributing on both ends of the ice and should be a force for Township over the next two seasons.


Coach of the Year - Daniel Rudd, Cinnaminson: Coming off a season where they only won 2 games, Cinnaminson with only one senior and playing in the North Division, won 14 games and with almost everyone returning should only be better.


Tier 3 Player of the Year - Brandon James, Mainland: Brandon led all goal scorers in Tier 3 with 31 and finished second overall in point while leading his team to an undefeated season.


JVA Player of the Year - Nick Bramante, Washington Township: Nick led his team in scoring and was purely a JVA player for Township and was a key contributor to their 9-3-3 record.


JVB Player of the Year - David Wacker, Cherry Hill East: David was 12-3 with a 1.78 GAA and a save % of 91.5. And was one of the main reasons for Cherry Hill winning their division.

We would like to congratulate all the recipients and you can show your appreciation at the finals when they receive their awards.

SJHSIHL League Awards


2007-08 SJHSIHL Championship MVP - Matt McDonald, Shawnee High School


Glen Holland Award (North Division Winner) - Craig Rushmore, Moorestown High School


Glen Holland Award (South Division Winner) - Nick Hoffmann, Clearview High School


Jeffery Burd (North Division Winner) - Eric Prince, Cherokee High School


Jeffery Burd (South Division Winner) - Laurence Cooper, Cherry Hill East

Each year the SJHSIHL presents an award in the honor of Jeffery Burd and Glen Holland and these awards are given to a player who represent these individuals.

  • The Jeffery Burd award goes to a player who is, compassionate, disciplined, dependable, smart and a tireless worker. Jeff was a very unique young man who gave so much to us and left us to soon. Jeff may be gone but he will not be forgotten. Representing Jeffery is his father Pete Burd.
  • The Glen Holland award goes to a player who is the top goal tender in the league. Glen was a man who donated his time and effort to our league. He was also one of the founders of this league back in 1993 and he had two boys who played in this league for Holy Cross. At the time when Glen had left us, his son was the number #1 goal tender in the league. The league has decided to honor Glen each year in behalf of the top goal tenders by giving two awards, one to the North division and one to the South division.