Annual Award Winners

Once again is pleased to announce our annual award recipients. This year there seemed to be more balance throughout the league and with the playoffs upon us we could be in for a few surprises. Listed below are the 2010-2011 winners:

Tier 1 Player of the Year - Jonathan Ruiz, Williamstown: Jonathan led the league in points with 66 and goals with 45, both career highs. Since joining the team his freshman year and scoring 16 goals, last year for his sophomore campaign he led his team with 30 goals and now in just his junior season has become the top scorer in the SJHSIHL. 

Defenseman of the Year - Chris Carnivale, Moorestown: Chris has been a stalwart for Moorestown on defense over the last two years and has also chipped in offensively averaging nine goals over the last 2 seasons. He has been the leader on defense for Moorestown and a driving force in helping the team to the last two titles.

Leadership Award - Eddie Sarin, Washington Township: Eddie has shown on the ice that he’s more than just a scorer as he kills penalties, mans the point on the power play and hustles every shift no matter the score. This season he surpassed 100 goals for the club and did so without much fanfare.

Coach of the Year - Joe Walters, Clearview: Coming off a season where they only won 2 games Clearview rebounded with 9 wins this year and after a slow start finished the season strong and should be a surprise in the tournament. With just 6 seniors graduating, they should have a nice nucleus for next season..

JVA Player of the Year -Sam Thompson, Cherokee: Sam, just a sophomore is among the league leaders in GAA with a 2.59 including one shutout. A pure JVA player, Sam has just one loss on the season and is a key ingredient in the success of the team this season.

JVB Player of the Year - Nick Kilcourse, Clearview: One of the few pure JVB players Nick is second on his team in scoring and has 3 hat tricks this season while leading his team to a first place finish.

Breakout Player of the Year - Jacob DiStasio, Williamstown: Jake switched from defense to offense this year and went from four goals to 25 goals while helping Williamstown to a 10-7-3 record. Just a junior Jake will be back next year leading a talented senior class.

Tier III Player of the Year - Tom Davies, Lower Cape May: Tom while helping his team to a first place finish this season, Tom was third in the league in goals scored and fifth overall in points.

Complete Player Award- Eddie Sarin, Washington Twp: We decide to let the Fans vote for an award this year. There were four players and with a 36% vote this was a close one among the players the coaches selected.

Complete JV Player Award- Austin Klock, Mainland: We also let the Fans vote for JV Complete Player award this year. The coaches selected four players and with a 45% vote, this one was decided right before the voting ended.

The league also announced this years Glen Holland Award given to the best goalie. For Tier 1- Dan Navarra, Cherokee. While leading his team to a 14-3-3 record Dan led all starters with a 2.18 GAA.

For Tier III the award goes to Brandon Adams from Lower Cape May, with a 12-3-1 record Brandon was the main reason for the success of his team and his 3.71 GAA was best amongst starters.

The league also announced this years Jeffery Burd Award which honors this young man who gave so much to us and left us to soon. This award is presented to a player who is also compassionate, discipline, dependable, and smart. This year's award goes to John Quilin, Cherokee.

Also receiving the Jeffery Burd Award for a Tier III player was William Tomlin, Mainland.

These awards plus last years playoff MVP Mike Eni from Moorestown and the MVP for this years Junior-Senior Showcase game, Vince Tascione from Shawnee will be handed out prior to the Championship game on February 28th

Written by Mike Costantino