Annual Award Winners 2012

As we complete our 14th season covering the SJHSIHL we are pleased to announce our annual award recipients. This year there seems to be more balance throughout the league and with the playoffs upon us we could be in for a few surprises. Listed below are the 2011-2012 winners:

Tier 1 Player of the Year - Jonathan Ruiz, Williamstown: Jonathan led the league in points with 56 and goals with 36 in winning his second straight Player of the Year award. Jonny also surpassed 100 goals this season in setting a club record that might stand for awhile.

Tier II Player of the Year - Eric Simone, EEW: Eric led Tier II in scoring while helping his team to a 17-3-1 record this year tops in the division.

Coach of the Year - Mike Sullivan, Cherokee: Coming off a championship season, Cherokee finished with a record of 17-2 and first place in Tier 1, Mike along with assistants Scott McKay and Steve Monahan have the Chiefs contending once again for the title.

Tier 1 Breakout Player of the Year - Cole Zucker, Cherokee: Coming off his sophomore season where he scored 12 goals, Cole emerged this year as the leading scorer with 25 goals and 26 assists, finishing third in the league in scoring.

Tier II Breakout Player of the Year - Sam Belanger, Lenape/RV: As a freshman, Sam scored 30 goals this year, which was tied for the league lead. Sam scored in every game but 4 in leading Lenape/RV to a fourth place finish this season.

Tier 1 Defenseman of the Year - Danny Pagliuso, Shawnee: Danny has been a standout all year for the Renegades and when asked by coaches about top defenseman, his name was mentioned the most.

Tier II Defenseman of the Year - Matt Bishop, Black Horse: Playing on an offensive minded team, Matt played strong on the back end in helping Black Horse to a 14-7 record and a second place finish. Just a junior Matt will be counted on heavily next season.

JVB Player of the Year - Zach Burkhardt, Washington Township: Zach was 11-0 for Township with a GAA of 1.45 in pacing Township to a first place finish this year.

Congratulations to all the players and the awards will be handed out prior to the Championship Game on Monday night February 27th.