Annual Award Winners 2018

In the continuing tradition here at SJIceHockey, we are pleased to announce the 2017-2018 award winners. We had many players that had standout years which made it difficult to narrow down and in one category we actually picked two players to share the honors. Congratulations to all.  The presentations will be prior to game 1 of the Championship round at Voorhees.

Tier I Player of the Year: Conor Riley (Eastern) - Conor led the league in scoring with 60 points and also led the league in assists and will be an important piece as Eastern tries and defend their Title.

Tier I Player of the Year: Max Kouznetsov (Eastern) - Max led the league in goals with 38 and finished second in scoring with 53 points, despite being injured and missing considerable time. Along with Riley they make up a dynamic scoring duo for the Vikings

Tier II Player of the Year: Luke Martini (Cherry Hill) - As a goalie, Luke had an 11-1-2 record with a GAA of 1.28 and 3 shutouts while leading his team to a first place finish in Tier II.

Breakout Player of the Year: Dominic Garozzo (Washington Township) - Dominic led his team with 32 goals in just his first season with Township. The transfer is the first legit scoring threat for Township in a long time.

JVA Player of the Year: Matthew Stepnowski (Cherokee) - Matt had a 7-2-1 record with a GAA of 1.84 with two shutouts in leading the Chiefs to a third place finish this season.

JVB Player of the Year: Jacob Woody (Kingsway) - As a pure JVB player, Jacob had 11 goals and 11 assists in 13 games this season as Kingsway finished with a 10-3-1 record on the season good enough for second in the JVB division.

Leadership Award: Robert Wildish (Moorestown) - Robert led his team in scoring this year with 37 points as Moorestown only lost one game. Coming off a season last year where Robert was third on the team with 13 points, Robert stepped up and more than doubled his production to lead the Quakes to an incredible season.

Coach of the Year: Daryl Sporer (Moorestown) - In his first year with Moorestown, Coach Sporer led the Quakes to a 15-1-2 record, good enough for first place in Tier I after Moorestown finished last year at 7-11-2. With coach preaching defense first, Moorestown plays a solid team game without any flashy players and is a strong contender to win the Title.

In addition the league announced their Award winners:

Glen Holland Award (Tier I): Griffin Conroy (Moorestown) - Griffin led the Quakes with a 9-1-1 record and a GAA of 1.76 and went undefeated in their division.

Glen Holland Award (Tier II): Luke Martini (Cherry Hill) - Luke finished with a record of 11-1-2 and a GAA of 1.28 in leading Cherry Hill to a first place finish in the division.

2016-17 Playoff MVP Award: Conor Riley (Eastern) - This award is given to the MVP of last year’s playoffs.

Steve Rumbus Award: Max Kouznetsov (Eastern) - Max scored 6 goals in this year's Showcase game, a league record.

Jeffery Burd Award: Joey Ricchezza, Washington Twp - .

Written by Mike Costantino