Annual Award Winners 2019

We are pleased with the league allowing us to recognize several players and a coach and their outstanding contributions they have made for their team. With at least two to three players considered for each category, we have finalized our decision. The tradition continues here at SJIceHockey as we honor the best of 2018-2019 season in the SJHSHL. Listed below are this year’s recipients: 

Tier I Player of the year: Jeremy Ambrose (Cherokee) - Jeremy led his team in points and goals again this season and continues to be the leader on the ice as his team looks for another championship. 

Tier II Player of the Year: Goalie Nick Manning (HLV) - Nick led HLV with a 12-4-1 record and a GAA of 1.53 with 4 shutouts. 

JVA Player of the Year: Jackson Avis (Moorestown) - The Quakes have a 11-2 record with a GAA of 2.31. Jack led the Quakes to second place this year as a pure JVA player. 

JVB Player of the Year: Tony Breen (Cherokee) - Tony, just a freshman, has scored 18 goals so far this season in just 11 games and has two game winning goals.

Leadership Award: Conor Riley (Eastern) - Conor led the Vikings in scoring with 38 points, including three game winning goals and is the team leader on the ice. This is the second time Conor has won this award, which has never happened before here at SJIcehockey! 

Breakout Player Award: Samuel Swain (HLV) - Sam has almost doubled his goals from last year going from 8 last year to 15 goals this season and is among the top 10 scorers in the league. 

Coach of the Year: Scott McKay (Cherokee) - Coach McKay has built one of the most successful programs, and year after year are expected to be at the top and this year was no exception as the Chiefs finished in first place. 

The league also announced their awards: 

Tier I - Glen Holland Award: Griffin Conroy (Moorestown) - Griffin was 5-5 on the season and has his team in the finals.

Tier II - Glen Holland Award: Nick Manning (HLV) - Nick led the league in wins and was second in save percentage. 

Congratulations to all the selections, awards will be handed out prior to game 1 of the Tier I championship.